

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Television Academy Announces Juried Winners for 70th Emmy[®] Awards

(NoHo Arts District, Calif. — August 28, 2018) — The Television Academy announced today the juried award winners for the 70th Emmy[®] Awards in the categories of Animation and Motion Design. The juried awards for these categories will be presented at the 2018 Creative Arts Awards ceremonies on Saturday, September 8 and Sunday, September 9.

This year's juried winners are:

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation

Adventure Time • Ketchup • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios Lindsay Small-Butera, Character Animation

Hey Arnold! The Jungle Movie • **Nickelodeon** • **Nickelodeon** Stu Livingston, Storyboard Artist

The Number On Great-Grandpa's Arm • HBO • HBO Documentary Films Jeff Scher, Production Designer

The Scariest Story Ever: A Mickey Mouse Halloween Spooktacular • Disney Channel • Disney Television Animation Justin Martin, Background Designer

The Simpsons • Springfield Splendor • FOX • Gracie Films in association with 20th Century Fox Television Caroline Cruikshank, Character Animation

Steven Universe • Jungle Moon • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios Patrick Bryson, Background Painter

Outstanding Motion Design

Broad City • Mushrooms • Comedy Central • Jax Media Mike Perry, Animation Director Isam Prado, Supervising Animator Erica Perez, Animator Maya Edelman, Animator Barbara Benas, Animator

Wasted! The Story Of Food Waste • Starz • Zero Point Zero Films

Mike Houston, Design and Graphics Director Daniel de Graaf, Art Director Naoko Saito, Motion Graphics and Visual Effects Artist Ryan Frost, Motion Graphics and Visual Effects Artist Chris King, Motion Graphics and Visual Effects Artist

Outstanding Innovation in Interactive Programming

No award given.

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group with the possibility of one, more than one, or no entry being awarded an Emmy. As a consequence, there are no nominees but instead a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant's work with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy. Only those with unanimous approval win.

The 2018 Creative Arts Emmy Awards, executive produced by Bob Bain, will be held at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles beginning at 5:00 PM PT on Saturday evening and at 4:00 PM PT on Sunday evening. FXX will broadcast the awards on Saturday, September 15 at 8:00 PM ET/PT.



Contact: Stephanie Goodell breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy) <u>stephanie@breakwhitelight.com</u> 818-462-1150