

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

'ABBOTT ELEMENTARY' STARS AMONG CELEBRITY PRESENTERS FOR TELEVISION ACADEMY FOUNDATION'S 43RD COLLEGE TELEVISION AWARDS

Winners of Television's Biggest Student Competition To Be Announced at Awards Show April 13

(**LOS ANGELES** – March 26, 2024) – The Television Academy Foundation today announced celebrity presenters for the 43rd College Television Awards. The awards ceremony, celebrating the best in student-produced television programs from colleges and universities nationwide, will be held on **Saturday, April 13**, at the Television Academy's Saban Media Center in North Hollywood, California.

The red carpet awards show will feature stars from today's top television shows presenting awards to winning teams in seven categories. Celebrity presenters confirmed to date include **Courtney Eaton** (*Yellowjackets*), **Midori Francis** (*Grey's Anatomy*), **Ronald Gladden** (*Jury Duty*), **Zyra Gorecki** (*La Brea*), **Samantha Hanratty** (*Yellowjackets*), **Raymond Lee** (*Quantum Leap*), **Chris Perfetti** (*Abbott Elementary*), **Plasma** (*RuPaul's Drag Race*), **Judy Reyes** (*Dr. Death*), **Nia Sioux** (*Dance Moms*) and **Lisa Ann Walter** (*Abbott Elementary*).

The College Television Awards will also include the presentation of the \$10,000 Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship to Savannah College of Art and Design students Halle Losordo (director/writer) and Abigail Dickinson (producer) for their project *Just Jacob*. The piece profiles the day-to-day life of fellow SCAD student Jacob Thiele who has Treacher Collins Syndrome. The genetic disorder affects the growth and development of the head, preventing the skull, cheek and jawbones from developing properly, causing facial anomalies and hearing loss.

During the show, the Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Award, a \$4,000 cash prize, will also be awarded to a College Television Award-winning project that best highlights a humanitarian concern.



Chris Perfetti Photo by Amanda Peixoto

Lisa Ann Walter

"We're thrilled to have this line-up of presenters for our annual awards program that highlights exceptional student-produced television programs from colleges across the country," said Jonathan Murray, interim chair of the Television Academy Foundation. "The Foundation's College Television Awards is a truly unique platform that can jumpstart careers for students by giving them exposure to industry professionals in Hollywood."

2024 College Television Awards nominees will also participate in a variety of professional development activities from April 11-13, including a private screening of all nominated projects attended by Television Academy leadership; an industry-professionals networking breakfast; Hollywood studio visits; and career advice from media leaders.

The 43rd College Television Awards ceremony will be held on April 13 at the Wolf Theatre at the Television Academy in North Hollywood, CA, at 6:00 PM PDT. To purchase tickets for the event, visit **TelevisionAcademy.com/cta/tickets**.

The Loreen Arbus Foundation is also sponsoring the recipients of the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship to attend SeriesFest this May in Denver, CO, during the Foundation's Collegiate Showcase. SeriesFest is a nonprofit organization dedicated to championing artists at the forefront of episodic storytelling through educational and professional development opportunities.

The 43rd College Television Awards is supported by philanthropists and corporate partners including the Johnny Carson Foundation, The Loreen Arbus Foundation, PEOPLE and United Airlines.



About the Television Academy Foundation

Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs such as The Interviews: An Oral History of Television Project, College Television Awards and Summit, Student Internship Program, and the Media Educators Conference, the Foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the Foundation, please visit TelevisionAcademy.com/Foundation.

###

Media Contacts:

Jane Sparango **breakwhitelight** (for the Television Academy Foundation)
<u>jane@breakwhitelight.com</u>
310-339-1214

Christina Parisi

breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy Foundation)

christina@breakwhitelight.com

310-962-3027