



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TELEVISION ACADEMY FOUNDATION'S COLLEGE AWARDS ANNOUNCE NOMINEES FOR INDUSTRY'S HIGHEST STUDENT HONOR

Exceptional Student-Produced Programs Recognized In National Competition By Television Academy Members



(LOS ANGELES - Dec. 6, 2023) — The Television Academy Foundation today announced nominees for the **43rd College Television Awards**, which recognizes and rewards excellence in student-produced programs from colleges nationwide,

and revealed the recipient of the \$10,000 Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship.

The College Television Awards ceremony will be held on **Saturday, April 13, 2024**, at the Television Academy's North Hollywood campus. Student nominees will also participate in two days of professional development discussions and networking opportunities with media and industry leaders to support career advancement.

Twenty-one student-produced programs are nominated from 181 entries submitted by 37 colleges and universities. Designed to emulate the Emmy[®] Awards, student entries are judged by Television Academy members; three projects are nominated in each of the seven categories. Criteria for the College Television Awards reflects industry standards of excellence, imagination and innovation. Each winning project will receive a \$3,000 cash prize.

"Congratulations to the 2024 nominees whose outstanding student productions have been recognized by the Television Academy Foundation," said Jodi Delaney, executive director of the Foundation. "We're thrilled to present their exceptional work to Hollywood's entertainment community through this awards program, giving students career exposure."



Image from The Witch's Cat Nominated in the Animation Series Category

The nominees for the 43rd College Television Awards are listed below:

ANIMATION SERIES:

Strings Attached - Ringling College of Art and Design Ria Shinde, Director, Producer, Writer

The Sun is Bad - Savannah College of Art and Design Rachel Mow, Director, Writer Ivan Chui, Producer

The Witch's Cat - Brigham Young University Jessica Fink Blaine, Producer Abby Staker, Director, Writer

COMEDY SERIES:

Fishmonger - American Film Institute Neil Ferron, Director, Writer Jordan Willcox, Producer Alexandra Dennis-Renner, Writer

Slobopoly - Chapman University Jennifer Baker, Producer, Writer Yinghui Li, Director

We Met At Camp - American Film Institute MC Plaschke, Director, Writer Alexander Heller, Producer, Writer Abbey Letizia, Producer, Writer

COMMERCIAL, PSA OR PROMO:

Alzheimer's Association - No One is Alone - Brigham Young University Remington Butler, Director, Writer Alex Mcbride, Producer

IMAX - Maximum Immersion - Brigham Young University Remington Butler, Director, Writer Eli Wright, Producer Alex Mcbride, Producer Lucy Nielson, Producer Lyft - We Don't Judge, We Drive - Brigham Young University Remington Butler, Director Carter Halvorsen, Writer Jeremy Holbrook, Writer Gwynie Bahr, Producer Tanner Jackson, Producer

DRAMA SERIES:

Backlog - University of Southern California Jacqueline Elyse Rosenthal, Director, Producer, Writer Zhongyu Wang, Producer Marian Cook, Producer Josh Powell, Producer

Chorus - American Film Institute Daniel Egbert, Director, Writer Ling Guo, Producer

Windows - University of California, Los Angeles Jorge Parra Jr., Director, Producer, Writer Meghan Truax, Producer

NEWS:

Flashpoint Florida: Midterm Election Special - University of Miami Maddie Bassalik, Producer, Writer Isabella Morales, Writer Zachari Levy, Writer Katelyn Kucharski, Producer Madison Schurr, Producer, Writer Anna Coon, Director, Writer Harvey Duplock, Writer

NewsVision - University of Miami Embrik Eyles, Producer Harvey Duplock, Producer Anna Coon, Director Katelyn Kucharski, Producer Derryl Barnes, Writer Sophia Vitello, Writer Cal Friedman, Writer Wyatt Kopelman, Writer Quinn Davidson, Producer

WUFT News First at Five - University of Florida

Taylor Fishman, Producer Caroline Chao, Producer Ophelie Jacobson, Writer Emily Ferguson, Director Chris Will, Writer Camila Pereira, Writer

NONFICTION SERIES:

Healing Paws - Florida State University Keith Cohen, Director, Producer, Writer

Laced - Florida State University Nico Wilcox, Director, Producer, Writer

Wings Of Dust - New York University Giorgio Ghiotto, Director, Producer, Writer

SPORTS:

SportsDesk: The Magazine Edition - University of Miami

Daniel Toll, Producer, Writer Morgan Champey, Director, Producer Derryl Barnes, Producer Anna Coon, Producer Kayla Davis, Producer Leslie Dominique, Producer Lauren Lennon, Producer Jaclyn Marra, Producer

Sports Final - Ithaca College

Bryan Manchester, Producer Julia Foster, Producer Ryan Spadafina, Producer Lauren Mitchell, Director Rheanna DeCrow, Writer Eli Fishman, Writer **Teammates: Honoring Sam Mills** - Montclair State University Jason Naccarella, Director Gianna Daginis, Writer Matt Orth, Writer Matt Bruchez, Producer Teni Bello, Writer

The Foundation also named the recipient of the \$10,000 **Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship**, which rewards a student-produced project that best portrays disability issues or helps emerging artists with a disability gain recognition. The winning piece for 2024 is titled **Just Jacob** by Halle Losordo (director/writer) and Abigail Dickinson (producer) from the Savannah College of Art and Design. It profiles the day-to-day life of fellow SCAD student Jacob Thiele who has Treacher Collins Syndrome. The genetic disorder affects the growth and development of the head, preventing the skull, cheek and jawbones from developing properly, causing facial anomalies and hearing loss.

Loreen Arbus is a two-time Emmy nominee who holds the trailblazing distinction of being the first woman to head programming for a U.S. network, both at Showtime and Cable Health Network/Lifetime, and is a leading advocate for people with disabilities. This is the 12th year for this award, provided by the Loreen Arbus Foundation, which has established and funds scholarships that both enhance and elevate social consciousness around key societal issues.

Winners in the competition will be announced by celebrity presenters at the awards ceremony on April 13, 2024. During the show the **Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Award**, a \$4,000 cash prize, will also be awarded to a College Television Award winning project that best highlights a humanitarian concern.

Tickets to the April 13 awards ceremony are \$25 for students with ID and \$50 for general admission. To purchase tickets, visit **TelevisionAcademy.com/cta/tickets**.

In addition to The Loreen Arbus Foundation, United Airlines is a proud supporter of the 43^{rd} College Television Awards.

ERRORS OR OMISSIONS: The deadline for correcting errors in the listing of nominations is **Dec. 12, 2023**, at **5 p.m. PST**. Omissions will be considered on a case-by-case basis. Contact <u>CTASupport@televisionacademy.com</u>.

About the Television Academy Foundation

Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs such as <u>The Interviews</u>: An Oral History of Television, <u>College Television Awards</u> and <u>Summit</u>, <u>Student Internship</u> <u>Program</u>, and the <u>Media Educators Conference</u>, the Foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the Foundation, please visit <u>TelevisionAcademy.com/Foundation</u>.

#

Media Contacts: Jane Sparango breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy Foundation) jane@breakwhitelight.com 310-339-1214

Christina Parisi **breakwhitelight** (for the Television Academy Foundation) <u>christina@breakwhitelight.com</u> 310-962-3027