

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

75TH EMMY SEASON WRAPS UP MILESTONE YEAR FOR TELEVISION ACADEMY FOUNDATION

For 65 Years the Television Academy's Nonprofit Is Where Television's Legacy and Future Converge

(**LOS ANGELES** - January 17, 2024) — The Television Academy Foundation celebrated its milestone 65th year during this Emmy Season as the nonprofit, dedicated to industry inclusivity, incorporated alumni from its programs into the festivities.

As the Emmys marked 75 years, its nonprofit foundation ensures another 75 more to come with a record number of its alumni now working in the industry and becoming Emmy nominees. Established in 1959, the Foundation is the 501(c)(3) public charity for the Television Academy, dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future.

The Foundation's high-touch offerings -- such as the Internship Program, College Television Awards and The Interviews: An Oral History of Television online archive -- provide the tools, access and inspiration that are propelling a more diverse generation to become the content creators and innovators of the future.

"The Foundation has nurtured over two thousand students, providing essential resources that help them discover their voices, refine their skills and chart rewarding career paths in every sector of the television industry," said Executive Director Jodi Delaney. "We're proud of each and every one of them."

The 75th Emmy Awards Giving Suite, produced by Backstage Creations and styled by luxury event designer Josh Johnson, embodied a "Modern Hollywood Glamour" motif. Stars from Angela Bassett, Alex Borstein, Geena Davis, Danny DeVito, Rhea Perlman, Michael Imperioli, Dylan McDermott, Anthony Anderson, Lorraine Bracco, Niecy Nash, Chandra Wilson, Kelsey Grammer, Tyler James Williams, Marin Hinkle, Caroline Aaron, Luke Kirby, Sam Richardson

and **Rob McElhenney** stopped by to help raise funds for the Foundation and perused brands from SpiritHoods faux fur coats, Moritek Beauty, Yaamava' Resort & Casino, Purdori Beauty, trips offered by Lush Africa Safaris, Museum Hotel Turkey and Villa Caprichosa Panama, Ricardo Beverly Hills luggage, NuSkin, Revive Collagen and Miracle of the Sea skincare and more at the Performer Nominee Celebration on January 13, 2023. Foundation Internship alumni Madison Anglin and Mateo Nikolav were also on hand in the suite to discuss career opportunities available through Foundation programs.



Tyler James Williams with 2023 Foundation interns Madison Anglin (left) and Mateo Nikolav (right) at the Backstage Creations Giving Suite benefitting the Foundation at the Performers Nominee Celebration for the 75th Emmy Awards on Jan. 13, 2024, in Los Angeles. (Photo by Arnold Turner/Invision for The Television Academy/AP Images)

This year's Emmys telecast trophy presenters, Geethika Kataru and Carissa Liu, are 2023 internship alumni who were also chosen for the inaugural Bob Bennett Future Leaders program. The program supports select students with financial assistance, professional development and leadership training, established by a gift from the Robert M. and Marjie Bennett Foundation. Kelly Bennett, daughter of the late industry pioneer Bob Bennett, attended the Emmy Awards and festivities with students from the program.



Television Academy Foundation interns and Bob Bennett Future Leaders Geethika Kataru (left) and Carissa Liu (right) served as trophy presenters at the 75thEmmy Awards pictured with philanthropist Kelley Bennett (center) onstage before the telecast on January 15, 2024 at the Peacock Theater at L.A. Live. (Photo by Al Seib/Invision for the Television Academy/AP Images)

2005 internship alumnus Albert Lawrence hosted the Emmys backstage winners-cam and 2017 entertainment news intern alumna Tyra Prude acted as on-camera host of the Emmys Press Preview on January 12.

Emmy-winning director and Foundation alumnus Richard Preuss directed the Creative Arts Emmys programs on January 6 and 7. Fifty-nine Foundation alumni attended the Creative Arts with Foundation staff.

Foundation alumni include prominent writers, producers, documentarians, creative executives, local newscasters, network presidents, Emmy nominees and winners. Notable Foundation alumni include: writer/director Gina Prince-Blythewood (*The Woman King*), Emmy winning Executive Producer Craig Mazin (*The Last of Us*), four-time Emmy winner Rachel Axler (*Veep*), *The Sopranos* producer Martin Bruestle, FX Networks Vice President of Development Kevin Wandell and Brandon Riegg, director of alternative programming at Netflix.

The Foundation relies on support from philanthropists and sponsors who share the belief that investing in today's students and educators pays dividends in tomorrow's more enlightened and innovative industry leaders.

About the Television Academy Foundation

Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs such as The Interviews: An Oral History of Television Project, College Television Awards and Summit, Student Internship Program, and the Media Educators Conference, the Foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the Foundation, please visit TelevisionAcademy.com/Foundation.

###

Media Contacts:

Jane Sparango **breakwhitelight** (for the Television Academy Foundation)
<u>jane@breakwhitelight.com</u>
310-339-1214

Christina Parisi **breakwhitelight** (for the Television Academy Foundation) christina@breakwhitelight.com 310-962-3027